Elliot Lawrence(4)

May 20.2016

279914

About Gerry Mulligan, I’m not going to write.

However, JazzWax posted last conversation with Mulligan.

Elliot Lawrence said:
”In the mid-1990s, my phone rang at 3 a.m. My wife answered it, nudged me and said, “It’s Gerry.” By then, Gerry had liver cancer and his wife had tried everything to get him cured. She even took him to South America to seek care. I got on the phone, and Gerry said, “Elliot, I just wanted to tell you one thing. The happiest time in my life was when I was 17 with you and we were working together on your band.”

From 1946–1954 The Elliot Lawrence Band became a traveling band performing at dances, concerts, college proms and headline gigs.

The band was recording many albums for Decca, Columbia, RCA, Fantasy records.

Then two members of his band were taking a home movies.

These films have been exposes on YouTube.

About their tour, please refer to the JazzWax.

http://www.jazzwax.com/2015/08/elliot-lawrence-on-the-road.html