Dixie By Dorsey

January 16.2016

This week has posted about Jimmy Dorsey.

And finally I want to write my most favorite record.

IMG_1496
IMG_1497
 In 1949, Jimmy Dorsey formed his Original ‘Dorseyland’ Jazz Band, a Dixieland combo taken from the personnel of his big band. While Dorsey had been emphasizing his alto playing since the late ’30s and became famous for his pop hits.
It is as if Dorsey was finally liberated from his role as a big-band leader and could at last devote his energy completely to jamming among near-equals.

Recently I found a wonderful website about him.

http://www.bigbandlibrary.com/jimmydorsey.html

You can enjoy more than my poor English.

Generally speaking, he was not popular compared with Tommy Dorsey.

From now on I want to introduce his great achievement to Japan’s jazz fan by my blog.