Lorenz Hart(2) 〜’It Never Entered My Mind’

May 03.2016

“It Never Entered My Mind” is a show tune from musical Higher and Higher (1940).

Once I laughed when I heard you saying
that I’d be playing solitaire,
uneasy in my easy chair.
It never entered my mind.

Once you told me I was mistaken,
that I’d awaken with the sun
and order orange juice for one.
It never entered my mind.

You have what I lack myself
and now I even have to scratch my back myself.

Once you warned me that if you scorned me
I’d sing the maiden’s prayer again
and wish that you were there again
to get into my hair again.
It never entered my mind.

Miles Davis (tp), John Coltrane (ts), Red Garland (p), Paul Chambers (b), Philly Joe Jones (d)

 

519S4-MWr5L._AA160_

In the Wee Small Hours is an album by Frank Sinatra with arrangements by Nelson Riddle, released in 1955.

Ann Burton BALLADS & BURTON,1969

Jane Monheit  Live at the Rainbow Room,  2002

Leave a Reply

