Melba Liston(1)

June 13.2017

Photo above of Melba Liston by courtesy of The Jimmy and Jeannie Cheatham Collection, LaBudde Special Collections.

Last week I went to Big Band Festival in Osaka.

Many universities joined this concert in Kansai area.(関西地区)

I realized more than half of all players were women students.

In addition, “Girl’s Band” chosing by all universities was organized.

 

In 2004 the movie “Swing Girls” was a great success in Japan.Go here

After that, the members of girls are increasing in the brass band club of high school.

So there are more women in soloists even in university big band.

When one student was playing trombone performance,I imagined the name of Melba Liston.

She was the first woman trombonist to play in big bands during the 1940s and 1960s.

This week I want to post about Melba Liston.

Photo Courtesy by The Girls in the Band.

先週末、大阪城公園で開催されたJAZZ Festivalに行ってきました。
関西地区の大学ビッグバンド(10大学)とOBバンドが出演していました。
初日(6/10)の7バンドを聞きましたが、演奏している学生の過半数が女性奏者でした。
又、各大学からの選抜による『Girl’s Band』が特別に編成されるほど女性奏者が多かったです。
2004年に製作された映画『スウィングガールズ』がヒットして以降、高校のブラスバンド部は圧倒的に女子高生が多いと聞いていましたが改めてびっくりしました。
ある大学の女性によるトロンボーンソロを聞いていた時、Melba Listonの名前を思い出しました。
彼女は1940年代から1960年代の間、ビッグバンドで演奏していた最初の女性トロンボーン奏者でした。
今週はMelba Listonについて投稿したいと思います。

 

Here is Melba Liston plays “Blues Melba”.